Re-modeling… oh, and vacation stuff

I intend to work on links and other resources for my blog in the next week. I am disappointed that at present I cannot use javascript on my side bar. This is something WordPress does not allow.

Just thought I’d share since I am not posting much…

 

I did enjoy my vacation to PA (Parents) – KY (COVFAMIKOI) – MI (Future Home, D.V.).

 

 

Highlights would include:

1) Spending roughly 40 hours in a car, driving to destinations.

2) Getting to spend quality time with Nate, Lydia and the kids. I’m having withdrawals.

3) “The Coffee Room” (est. 7/07), and all the visitors who graced the establishment.

4) Sitting in on Rev. Lanning’s “Colloquium Doctum” which is a conversation among the learned which served as a pre-exam for Rev’ Lanning’s entrance into the RPCNA. Great to see Presbyterianism in action. Great to see Bishop Lanning in action. (What?! I mean the biblical kind of bishop).

5) Seeing Jimmy Boy after such a long time… and even though he is no longer geeky-looking… he’s still a geek at heart. “I luff dat guy, y’all! Shoot… Yeah… Shoot.

6) Great talk about dating, courtship, marriage, etc. with… well you know who you are *wink.

7) Hearing over 400 voices singing the Psalms, acappella… gives me the chills.

8 ) Hangin’ at Steve’s parents right off of (and I mean right off of) Lake Michigan, and the great eats. I could go for another one of those raw burgers!

9) Sitting before the Session of the ARC of GR, reading my letter of repentance addressed to them and the Congregation.

10) Seeing the “B” again, and hearing him say that a part of him has come to life again since our return! Brian, be encouraged by the Word of God,

2 Pet 1:[5] And beside this, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge; [6]And to knowledge temperance; and to temperance patience; and to patience godliness; [7]And to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity. [8]For if these things be in you, and abound, they make [you that ye shall] neither [be] barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

11) Stromboli!

12) Talking to Loretta about why I left the ARC of GR, and how the Lord has brought me back. Great questions, Loretta. We probably talked more on the Lord’s Day than the 4 years that I lived in GR. Looking forward to more of the same edifying talks in the future.

13) In general, catching up with some good friends: Brett, Jason, James, (missed the Boones – so next trip eh?).

Lowlights (is that a word?) would include:

1) Spending roughly 40 hours in a car, driving to destinations.

2) The Pickerings went on vacation just when I was looking to come back from mine.

3) My Mom going to Las Vegas (education conference.. yeah right, Mom!) so we did not see her when we came back thru to Albany.

4) Leaving GR with so few books. But I did pick up enough study guides for our Albany Bible Study on 1 John, by Dr. Beeke. (Tuesday evenings – let me know if you want to come).

5) Going back to work.

 

So please be patient as I remodel this site a bit. Peace.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Hi, Shawn! Julio here.

    So good to hear about your trip! Posts like this are the only places where I hear about colloquia docta, Psalm sings, sessions, and Presbyterianism more generally, any more. ;-)

    Clearly the highlights far exceed the “lowlights” (hehe!), which spells “success” in any book. It’s always the same with my own visits to GR–but at a rate of roughly twice a year, they are too few and far between. Anyway, I’m delighted that all is well!

    (Meanwhile, I have been introduced to Google Reader lately, and I’ve added your blog. Hopefully this will help me keep up!)

    Reply

  2. Good highlights. I will give a hearty amen and a prost of Merlot to that !

    Cannot wait to host you again in a couple of weeks.

    Reply

  3. Thanks for the link to my blog. I have returned the favor. I like what you’re doing here, and I especially appreciate your good blogroll.

    If you want to switch to a wordpress.org blog, you can do java anywhere you want (including the template). But that’s only if you want your computer to act as the server. That is different from a wordpress.com blog, which allows very little flexibility in this regard.

    Reply

  4. it was wicked awesome to see you guys again too. and i’m back to the geeky look with my new Stanton Moore glasses. although i personally do not think they’re geeky, as they are in fact Stanton Moore glasses and therefore ultra wicked cool. til next time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

