al-Qaeda and the Emergent Assembly

The blogs I enjoy reading not only post on dead guys and good theology, but also relevant news articles, contemporary culture/social issues, and even the occasional humorous comic strip.  I want to be more like those blogs, so here’s an attempt.

I saw this article linked from a blog about “Why al-Qaeda supports the Emergent Church“. Come on, you know that sounds interesting. Check out the link!

And if you enjoy it, check out his follow-up article “Outing the Emergents With Three Questions“.

Interesting to say the least… look forward to your comments.

2 responses to this post.

  1. This is very interesting. I mean, the writer is obviously several blocks right of where I am, but still, I find his underlying points to be very well taken.

    A while back I had a run in with an emergent type who was seething over these. I pointed out to him that, even though these posters are obviously meant to poke fun at the emergent movement, they do so on the basis of very valid criticisms of their paradigm that they would do well to engage. Of course, no response was forthcoming from this person, seeing how many who identify themselves as “emergent” also feel compelled to ignore any insights not penned by their pet authors/pamphleteers. Anyway, I might blog about this tomorrow, now that I’m thinking about this.

    So, thanks for the reminders, and for the links!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Aaron Bishop on Wednesday: August 15, 2007 at 11:50 AM

    Hi Shawn,
    Long time no talk. I hope you and your wife are doing well.
    The article is misleading, in that it confuses the emergent church with the postmodern, evolving world in which we live. The EC does not hold to such a loosely-based theology as the author asserts, but postmodern people in general (not followers of Christ) do.
    I’ll be the first to admit that the “conversation” does have much folly, but by and large, those who consider themselves emergent Christians truly are purposing their lives around Jesus’ words in Matt. 28:19.
    While I will always believe the firm foundation of the Bible’s authority (among many other core beliefs), I believe that we all should evaluate how we communicate with a world that does not believe these things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

