Old School… because kids just don’t appreciate what they have today!

Remember the “Magnavox Odyssey” video game console? – Well then you’re old! This was the first console released in the Fall of 1972.

Remember Atari 2600? – I was born the very month this console was released, Oct, 1977.

K, now remember Nintendo? – July 1983. I remember my cousin, Lorenzo, getting one for Giftmas. We played that thing all day. Super Mario Bros.! Tecmo Super Bowl! Contra!

I also remember the first time we got one. My brother and I were so excited about it. My brother liked all the sports games, and I actually liked Double Dribble, Blades of Steel and Tecmo Super Bowl too. However I always liked the dumb adventure games like, “Boy and his Blob”! “Maniac Mansion”! Bionic Commando! Battle of Olympus!

Brian and I love action games like GI Joe! Bad Dudes! TMNT (arcade style)! Castlvania! Hudson’s Adventure Island! Mega Man series!

What fun! What a waste of time! I had no moderation then. Wouldn’t it be great if we could have all of those games again? Well folks… YOU CAN! Imagine having ALL the games Nintendo put out for the NES!

That’s right, one of my best friends, Ed Prevost from the infamous http://www.edwardprevost.info has put together an NES pack and it is amazing.

He is offering this program for FREE. All you have to do is:

1) Click —===HERE===—

2) Download the installer.

3) Install the iPlayer.

4) Click on the iPlay logo and go to File. You will find over 800 games to play right on your PC!

5) You can use the keys on your keypad if you want mediocre play. However if you are interested in retro play, you can buy controllers to use to play the games. You can either:

a) buy a USB connector for paddles HERE and either buy paddles On-line, Ebay, your local garage sale, or dig some up in that attic box that has all your old toys. Or,

b) buy a controller already converted into a USB NES paddle. I have not been able to find any online though. (Yes, I tried phreque, but their site was down)

So there you go. Thanks Ed! Enjoy everybody.

8 responses to this post.

  1. AFAIK, NES roms (games) are not public domain (under copyright by various developers), so this is technically not legal, though fairly pervasive online.

    …Unless of course you own the physical game.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Notliberal on Friday: January 18, 2008 at 9:08 AM

    We had one of those Nintendo things. Zelda was always fun, I think we got it because my idiot brother liked the fact that it was gold instead of gray. I thought Super Mario 2 was the best game, in part because you could pick which character to use at each level. Toad was always a favorite, as was Luigi. Mario was lame, so far as I was concerned.

    Reply

  3. Playing Battetoads brings back some fond memories. Co-op always turned into deathmatch, so we rarely made it past the first level.

    Reply

  4. Remember “Redneck Rampage”? That was a little further down the road.

    Reply

  5. I cannot tell you how many hours were spent playing Blades of Steel and regular old hockey on the NES. I’m really surprised that the system didn’t burn out.

    Reply

  6. Actually Wraezor, being a software developer I wouldn’t have dreamed of infringing on another programmers rights… the ESA released all of the titles I have included in the install… hence the reason i even took the time to do it….

    http://www.coolrom.com/faq.php#5

    I’m sure you can google and find out even more about what titles were and were not ESA released/protected… Enjoy all

    Reply

  7. […] JMH wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptMy brother liked all the sports games, and I actually liked Double Dribble, Blades of Steel and Tecmo Super Bowl too. However I always liked the dumb adventure games like, “Boy and his Blob”! “Maniac Mansion”! Bionic Commando! … Read the rest of this great post here […]

    Reply

  8. Phreque’s back ;) We just had a short hiccup.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

