“Blessed are those who win arguments!”…I know it’s somewhere in there…

Some say that I like to stir up arguments, others have even called me controversial. I would say that in my youth I have had more zeal than biblical wisdom. And while I admit that I enjoy debating, I have noticed that the fire has cooled a little. The goal of confrontation should not be winning a debate, or being right. It should be to come to biblical resolution and restitution, just as Jesus reconciled the world to God.

Derek Webb has struck a chord with me in his edgy lyrics. In 2 of his songs he confronts (with biblical wisdom) my attitude towards others who I feel in opposition with. In private meditation and sobriety I find that I am really fighting with myself. Check these lyrics out.

I DON’T WANT TO FIGHT
.
I don’t want to be right anymore
I don’t want to be good
I don’t want to change your mind
to feel it like I do
.
I don’t wanna sell graves
peddle them door to door
a little something to ease your mind
and prepare you for what’s in store
.
I don’t want to fight
brother I’m not joking about peace
we can have it here tonight
it all comes down to you and me
.
you never asked me to save anyone
not in whole or in part
like I was some kind of Holy Ghost
come to change their hearts
.
you know the tree by the fruit
but just between me and you
I never do what I want
I do what I’m taught
and I’ve been learning a lot
about the violence I’m capable of
.
so I’m walking away from this
before I hurt someone
’cause I’m facing enemies
on both sides of the gun
.
.

MY ENEMIES ARE MEN LIKE ME

I have come to give you life
And to show you how to live it
I have come to make things right
To heal their ears and show you how to forgive them
.
‘Cause I would rather die
I would rather die
I would rather die than to take your life
.
‘Cause how can I kill the ones I’m supposed to love
My enemies are men like me
So I will protest the sword if it’s not wielded well
‘Cause my enemies are men like me
.
Peace by way of war
Is like purity by way of fornication
It’s like telling someone murder is wrong
And then showing them by way of execution
.
And I would rather die
I would rather die
I would rather die than to take your life
.
‘Cause how can I kill the ones I’m supposed to love
My enemies are men like me
So I will protest the sword if it’s not wielded well
‘Cause my enemies are men like me
.
When justice is bought and sold just like weapons of war
Oh, the ones who always pay are the poorest of the poor
.
So how can I kill the ones I’m supposed to love
My enemies are men like me
So I will protest the sword if it’s not wielded well
‘Cause my enemies are men like me

4 responses to this post.

  1. Great food for thought, I think you really hit the nail on the head reg. the purpose of debate.

    Reply

  2. Posted by David Hart on Saturday: October 11, 2008 at 1:22 PM

    WOW!! He took the words right out of my heart! Thanks so much for that! And although I want so much to walk and talk those words….. the “old man” still wants to crash through. Really appreciate the songwriter’s thoughts.

    Reply

  3. Interesting words alright… I along with you just don’t
    have it in me to do any debating, any more…
    Just look for opportunities instead, to speak of the Lord’s great kindnesses towards me.

    A happy belated birthday as
    well Shawn Boy..

    xo

    ~mom`

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jason Schuiling on Saturday: November 01, 2008 at 2:46 AM

    True, true. Zeal without compassion keeps close to zeal without knowledge.

    Don’t under-value [your] defending the truth and wrestling in thought though.

    I vaguely recall an IM discussion/debate with you like some 8 years ago, before we were really even e-Aquainted. Your words were some of the first that stirred me up and made me consider God’s word more seriously and sincerely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

