Shaking the dust off…And the need for preachers to pray

Well I have not been here for a LONG time. But I decided to post again. Mostly links of things I find interesting, or quotes that interest me. It’s more for my own record, than for people to read.

I am reading from “Preaching: How to Preach Biblically,” this particular chapter is entitled, ‘The Priority of Prayer and Expository Preaching‘ by James E. Rosscup from Master’s Seminary. Here’s a sample:

A brother told (Edward) Payson he felt discouraged about preaching because of inexperience and ignorance. Payson wrote to him, admitting that he himself always felt inadequate:

This led me to pray almost incessantly…He who has thus guided me, and thousands of others equally foolish will, I trust, guide you…If we would do much for God, we must ask much of God;…I cannot insist on this too much. Prayer is the first thing, the second thing, and the third thing necessary for a minister, especially in seasons of revival…Pray, then, my dear brother, pray, pray, pray.

Leave a Reply

