Kingdom McBama versus Kingdom of Christ

I was inspired by a post on Dan Ritchie’s “Reformed Covenanter” re: The American Presidential Election. (thanks for the link, Nate!)

I was a fan of Ron Paul, not because he would promote a Covenanted Nation, but because he would promote a Republic, which is a means to a Covenanted State, which is a means to a Covenanted Nation.

The problem with these 2 clowns is that both of them play politics, while having no real moral backbone, or integrity. At the same time, both of them think that redemption is found in the State, that is, the State is the means to support moral and social reform, justice through policing the world. However pluralism and political polytheism have always been the warning signs that a nation is about to lose it’s candle stick.

Whereas the Bible teaches that the Son is to be “kissed” by the kings and princes of the Earth, for He is the King of kings and the Lord of lords.

Psalm 2

1Why do the heathen rage, and the people imagine a vain thing?

2The kings of the earth set themselves, and the rulers take counsel together, against the LORD, and against his anointed, saying,

3Let us break their bands asunder, and cast away their cords from us.

4He that sitteth in the heavens shall laugh: the LORD shall have them in derision.

5Then shall he speak unto them in his wrath, and vex them in his sore displeasure.

6Yet have I set my king upon my holy hill of Zion.

7I will declare the decree: the LORD hath said unto me, Thou art my Son; this day have I begotten thee.

8Ask of me, and I shall give thee the heathen for thine inheritance, and the uttermost parts of the earth for thy possession.

9Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron; thou shalt dash them in pieces like a potter’s vessel.

10Be wise now therefore, O ye kings: be instructed, ye judges of the earth.

11Serve the LORD with fear, and rejoice with trembling.

12Kiss the Son, lest he be angry, and ye perish from the way, when his wrath is kindled but a little. Blessed are all they that put their trust in him.

7 responses to this post.

  1. I just heard a sermon on this Psalm.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Notliberal on Tuesday: August 19, 2008 at 8:09 AM

    Ron Paul, oy vey. There are fundemental reasons not to vote for either McCain or B. Hussein Obama. All Pols play politics, including your beloved Paul. There’s nothing per se wrong with politics, it’s played all the time in governments, churches and daily life. It’s played in our church by our elders, pastor, deacon, intern and congregation. Politics are not per se evil, it’s the results of certain political games that are evil and/or the basis for engaging in political games.

    I think it’s fair to say that for Christians voting for a man like Obama is out of the question. His positions and his party’s position on so many issues are contrary to scripture that he isn’t worth considering. That leaves McCain as the only major party choice. There are legitimate reasons to not vote for McCain, some of those reasons you’ve hit on. At the end of the day though, the reason to not vote for McCain lies in the fact that he only decided to become a Christian when he decided he was going to run again for President. I believe he switched denominations just last year, for no other reason than to shore up evangelical votes. In other words, the man is a fraud.

    Reply

  3. Steve, thanks for your thoughts.

    I’m not against politics either. When I said that they “play politics” I meant that they try to take advantage of an irrelevant 2-party system, and exploit that system, dealing with people in an opportunistic, manipulative, or devious way for their own gain and advancement, in a word, as you put it, they are frauds.

    All governors (civil, ecclesiastical, familial, occupational) should be servants of their inferiors, not promoting their own gain but the promotion of others, which sometimes includes using discipline to encourage the promotion of others (we all could use more self-control).

    I’m wasn’t for Ron Paul because he was the best candidate, but he was the candidate who talked about and practiced a return to a constitutional system and law. As you probably know, my biggest issue with the Constitution is that Jesus Christ is not explicitly named Sovereign Magistrate or Lord over this nation, but I do think (as far as I presently know) that a Republic system is probably the system to promote the well-being of the nation.

    Also, I could never be a libertarian, just as much as I could not be a Democrat or Republican. Any party they does not explicitly recognize King Christ and His Law as sole authority and the basis of legislation and mercy, I can not support.

    Thanks again for your comments. I agreed with your thoughts on Obama and McCain.

    Reply

  4. I can appreciate wanting each party to declare Christ as King. However, what does that really mean in practice. There are plenty of churches that declare Christ as King but that doesn’t stop them from ignoring scripture. If the party or church isn’t following Christ or His law, what difference does it really make if they declare Him King? In practice, it matters not at all.

    I’m a Republican and will proudly vote a straight ticket with the exception of President. Why? Because the Republican Party, even with its flaws, best represents and pushes for God’s laws. Maybe not all of them and maybe not to the extent that I would like but they stand for life, they stand for marriage, they stand for God in the public square. They defend Biblical forms of contract and tort law and on some level they support God’s criminal statutes.

    I don’t like everything that my party does but the alternative is far worse. The alternative is abortion on demand, homosexual marriage, God’s attempted silence in the public square, outrageous tort awards and a near elimination of basic freedom of contract. Would I like the GOP to declare Christ as King, sure. Would I like the Constitution to declare Christ as King? Sure. But in refusing to have a King, isn’t Christ’s position implied? I dare say that for many in the GOP, Christ’s Kingship is implied even though it isn’t put on paper.

    Reply

  5. Notliberal wrote: “Why? Because the Republican Party, even with its flaws, best represents and pushes for God’s laws…I dare say that for many in the GOP, Christ’s Kingship is implied even though it isn’t put on paper.”

    Really?

    Sorry, but I have yet to notice that in the Republican party. I see a promotion of a sort of moralism, that promotes the elite, defined not by God’s Word but by what passes as the current popular fad of conservativism. I also see the manifest destiny presupposition continue in that Party, but as for God’s law and Word, no.

    Christ’s kingship implied, again in the GOP, maybe an American Christ, but not Jesus Christ, the Son of God.

    For Christ’s Crown and Covenant.

    Reply

  6. Of course we believe in Jesus as King… and Allah… and Buddah….

    but above all, Money. Money is king.

    Reply

Leave a comment